Rafael Nadal scoops first Fans' Favourite Award

Rafael Nadal has completed the full set of ATP Awards after he won the Fans' Favourite Award for the first time, ending his great rival Roger Federer's dominance in the process.

The Spaniard has always been a fan favourite, but Federer has ruled the roost in the fan award section as he had won it for the past 19 years.

With Federer not eligible after slipping out of the ATP Rankings, Nadal won the Fans' Favourite Award - voted online by tennis fans from the top 25 singles players - for the first time. In fact since the award was introduced in 2000, only four players have won it as Gustavo Kuerton was the inaugural recipient, Marat Safin won it in 2001 and 2003 before Federer took charge.

Nadal is naturally "feeling great" after being recognised by fans around the world.

"I am super happy to receive the Fans' Favourite Award [in] 2022. It makes me feel great," the 22-time Grand Slam winner said.

"I can't thank you enough everyone for the support not only for this award, but at the same time for all the support that I receive in every single city and event around the world.

"That means everything to me, so I am very [much] looking forward to 2023 to share a lot of positive things again. See you soon!"

Nadal started the year with a 20-0 streak as he won the Melbourne Summer Set, Australian Open and Mexican Open. His victory at Melbourne Park saw him become the first man to win 21 Grand Slams and he then moved to 22 majors after winning a 14th title at Roland Garros in June.

He lost only one match in Grand Slams this year - the fourth round of the US Open - as he also reached the semi-final of Wimbledon before withdrawing ahead of the match due to injury.

The 36-year-old finished his season with a 39-8 win-loss record and was the year-end No 2 behind Carlos Alcaraz.

With the Fans' Favourite Award in the bag, Nadal has now won all the gongs available to him.

He was named Newcomer of the Year in 2003, won the Most Improved Player of the Year Award in 2005, won the Player of the Year Award in 2008, 2010, 2013, 2017 and 2019, picked up the Comeback of the Year Award in 2013, received the Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award in 2010, 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2021, and was named Arthur Ashe Humanitarian of the Year in 2011.

The ATP Player of the Year award is the only one that does not get voted for as it is handed to the year-end No 1.

Latest news