• PlanetF1
  • PlanetRugby
  • LoveRugbyLeague
  • Tennis365
  • TeamTalk
  • Football365
  • PlanetFootball
  • Home
  • Football
  • Premier League Announces Player Of The Season Nominees

Premier League announces player of the season nominees

Manchester City forward Erling Haaland is in the running to win the Premier League player of the season award for the second consecutive year.

The 23-year-old Norwegian international finds himself among the nominees alongside his teammate Phil Foden.

Midfielders Martin Odegaard from Arsenal and Declan Rice, forward Cole Palmer of Chelsea, striker Alexander Isak from Newcastle, forward Ollie Watkins representing Aston Villa, and Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk complete the list of nominees.

The recipient of the award, determined through a combination of public voting and evaluation by a Premier League panel, will be revealed on May 18th.

Pep Guardiola, the manager of Manchester City, who has won the manager of the season award four times, is once again on the shortlist. He is joined by Mikel Arteta from Arsenal, Jurgen Klopp from Liverpool, Unai Emery from Villa, and Andoni Iraola from Bournemouth.

Last season, Haaland made history by becoming the first player to clinch both the player of the season award and the young player award, thanks to his remarkable tally of 36 goals in 35 league games.

This season, he has netted 25 goals as Manchester City pursues a historic fourth consecutive title.

Cristiano Ronaldo, the former Manchester United forward, remains the sole player to have won the award in consecutive seasons, achieving the feat in 2006-07 and 2007-08.

Earlier this month, Phil Foden, the England forward, was honored as the footballer of the year by the Football Writers' Association, having scored 16 league goals and provided eight assists this season.

Manchester City has dominated the award in recent years, with Haaland following in the footsteps of Kevin de Bruyne in 2019-20 and 2021-22 and Ruben Dias in 2020-21.

Odegaard and Rice have been instrumental in Arsenal's pursuit of their first title in two decades. Odegaard, the Norwegian international, has contributed eight goals and eight assists, while Rice, representing England, has notched up nine goals and seven assists in his debut season since moving from West Ham.

Palmer, who transferred from City to Chelsea in September, has registered 21 goals and provided nine assists, while Isak, the Swedish international, has amassed 20 goals and one assist.

Watkins, representing England, has had a prolific season with 19 goals and 12 assists, while van Dijk, the Netherlands international and previous recipient of the award in 2018-19, guided Liverpool to success in the Carabao Cup this season.

Additionally, Haaland, Foden, Palmer, and Isak have been named among the nominees for the Premier League young player of the season award, alongside Arsenal forward Bukayo Saka, defender William Saliba, Manchester United midfielder Kobbie Mainoo, and Tottenham defender Destiny Udogie.

Premier League player of the season nominees
Erling Haaland (Man City)

Phil Foden (Man City)

Declan Rice (Arsenal)

Martin Odegaard (Arsenal)

Alexander Isak (Newcastle)

Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa)

Cole Palmer (Chelsea)

Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)

Premier League manager of the season nominees
Pep Guardiola (Man City)

Mikel Arteta (Arsenal)

Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool)

Unai Emery (Aston Villa)

Andoni Iraola (Bournemouth)

Premier League young player of the season nominees

Erling Haaland (Man City)

Phil Foden (Man City)

Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)

William Saliba (Arsenal)

Alexander Isak (Newcastle)

Cole Palmer (Chelsea)

Kobbie Mainoo (Man Utd)

Destiny Udogie (Tottenham)

More Articles