World Grand Prix: Draw, schedule, prize money and more ahead of the Sky Sports-televised event

The prestigious World Grand Prix returns to the Morningside Arena in Leicester as Jonny Clayton looks to defend his title.

The world's best players will all be in action as they battle over the record-breaking £600,000 prize pot. 

The last two years have seen Welsh domination, with both Gerwyn Price and Jonny Clayton getting their hands on the trophy.

However, there are a number of names in the first-round draw who will be desperate to make their mark.

Here's everything you need to know ahead of the event.

What is the schedule for the World Grand Prix?

The 25th edition of the World Grand Prix will get underway on Monday, October 3.

Second-round games will start on October 5 and culminate a day later.

Quarter-final action will take place on October 7, while the semi-finals and final will take place over the following two days.

World Grand Prix first-round draw

Photo credit: Taylor Lanning/PDC
Photo credit: Taylor Lanning/PDC

Gerwyn Price vs Martin Schindler

Joe Cullen vs Damon Heta

Rob Cross vs Daryl Gurney

Madars Razma vs Ryan Searle

Michael Smith vs Nathan Aspinall

Danny Noppert vs Gabriel Clemens

James Wade vs Martin Lukeman

Ross Smith vs Andrew Gilding

Peter Wright vs Kim Huybrechts

Callan Rydz vs Krzysztof Ratajski

Jonny Clayton vs Dirk van Duijvenbode

Dimitri Van den Bergh vs Dave Chisnall

Michael vsn Gerwen vs Gary Anderson

Brendan Dolan vs Stephen Bunting

Jose de Sousa vs Adrian Lewis

Chris Dobey vs Luke Humphries

World Grand Prix prize money

First round losers: £7,500

Second round losers: £15,000

Quarter-finalists: £25,000

Semi-finalists: £40,000

Runner-up: £60,000

Winner: £120,000

Who are the favourites to win the World Grand Prix?

Photo credit: Scott Radford-Chisholm/PDC
Photo credit: Scott Radford-Chisholm/PDC

Gerwyn Price and Michael van Gerwen are the joint-favourites ahead of the World Grand Prix.

The Welshman won the event in 2020 and reached the final a year later. What's more, the Iceman arrives in good form, having won recent World Series of Darts events in Amsterdam and New Zealand.

MVG, on the other hand, can never be overlooked. The Dutchman has already won the World Matchplay and the Premier League this year. He is also a five-time winner of the World Grand Prix.

Other names to watch include the current world champion Peter Wright and defending Grand Prix champion Clayton.

Meanwhile, Luke Humphries and Michael Smith will both be looking to end the eight-year wait for an English champion at this event.

Where to watch the World Grand Prix?

Fans in the UK can follow every dart on Sky Sports. Viewers abroad will be able to watch the action unfold on Viaplay, DAZN or PDC TV.

READ MORE: World Series of Darts: PDC announce momentous Bahrain debut in 2023

Latest news