World Series of Darts: PDC announce momentous Bahrain debut in 2023

The Professional Darts Corporation have announced they will bring the World Series of Darts to Bahrain for the first time.

The Bahrain Darts Masters will take place on January 12-13 and will be part of the global tour of the world's best darts players. 

A multi-year deal has been signed with the PDC which will bring the World Series of Darts to Bahrain on an annual basis.

The 2023 Bahrain Darts Masters will comprise two days of competition, with eight top players - set to include reigning World Champion Peter Wright and world number one Gerwyn Price - taking on eight regional representatives, including Bahrain's best players, across two days.

The event will be played out to a live audience in a specially designed format at BIC's entertainment dome and will also be broadcast live to a global audience.

Tickets for this limited capacity event will go on sale later in the year and fans are encouraged to register now at for all the latest information on tickets and the event.

Sheikh Salman bin Isa Al Khalifa, Chief Executive of Bahrain International Circuit, said: "With our partners at CBX, we can't wait to welcome the best darts players in the world to the inaugural Bahrain Darts Masters early next year.

"The sport is a spectacle that has to be seen to be believed and the atmosphere at PDC events is something that we expect will be a unique experience for fans in Bahrain.

"I welcome the PDC as a new member of the BIC family, and with our friends at CBX we look forward to putting on a stellar event for fans around the world."

PDC Chief Executive Matt Porter said: "Our global growth through the World Series of Darts in the past decade has been incredible and it's another big step for us to stage the Bahrain Darts Masters in January.

"We're delighted to be working with Bahrain International Circuit and CBX on this exciting event, which will showcase PDC darts to a new audience and also be an opportunity for players from the region to test themselves against the world's best.

"This is an exciting new event and will be a great way to begin our 2023 World Series of Darts."

The Professional Darts Corporation operates a global £15 million circuit of events, which includes the World Darts Championship, four-month Premier League tour and World Series of Darts, which will also visit Denmark, America, Australia, New Zealand and the Netherlands in 2023.

Star players have become household names through their playing achievements and entertaining styles, from Peter "Snakebite" Wright's colourful Mohawks and unique outfits to the flamboyant Gerwyn "The Iceman" Price and generational talent of "Mighty" Michael van Gerwen.

Winners on the 2022 World Series of Darts circuit included Michael Smith, Belgium's Dimitri Van den Bergh and Wales' Jonny Clayton, as well as Van Gerwen and Price, who also won the season-ending World Series of Darts Finals.

Photo Credit: PDC

Latest news