German Darts Open: World champion Peter Wright to clash with Ian White or Raymond van Barneveld

This weekend’s Interwetten German Darts Open will see Peter Wright lock horns with either Ian White or Raymond van Barneveld.

The Sparkassen-Arena in Jena will play host to the 11th European Tour event of the year from September 9-11, as the race to qualify for October's Cazoo European Championship continues. 

Friday's first round will feature five-time World Champion Van Barneveld, who takes on 2019 finalist White for the right to face Wright on Saturday.

German number one Gabriel Clemens faces Martin Lukeman in another tasty first round tie, with Northern Irish duo Daryl Gurney and Josh Rock up against Connor Scutt and Geert Nentjes respectively.

Lukas Wenig and Dragutin Horvat join Clemens and Martin Schindler as the two host-nation representatives in Jena, and they will be in first round action against Alan Soutar and Jeff Smith on Friday.

The seeded players enter the fray in Saturday's second round, as top seed Luke Humphries begins his bid for a fifth European Tour title of the year against Jamie Hughes or Daniel Larsson.

World number one Gerwyn Price makes his European Tour return against fellow Welshman Lewy Williams, with Wright's clash against White or Van Barneveld set to headline Saturday's evening session.

Newly crowned Hungarian Darts Trophy winner Joe Cullen will also be in action against Joe Murnan, as the Masters champion eyes back-to-back European Tour crowns.

Reigning European Champion Rob Cross meets Clemens or Lukeman in round two, while Nathan Aspinall - a semi-finalist in Budapest last weekend - plays a resurgent Steve Beaton.

Michael van Gerwen, Michael Smith, Adrian Lewis and Darren Webster have withdrawn from this weekend's tournament, with Schindler and Dave Chisnall replacing Van Gerwen and Smith as seeds.

As a result, Ross Smith, Lewy Williams, Beaton and Murnan will receive Byes through to Saturday's second round.

Sunday's Finals Day will see the last 16 take place in the afternoon session, before the tournament concludes with the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final in a blockbuster evening session.

Full draw

(1) Luke Humphries vs Jamie Hughes/Daniel Larsson

(16) Dave Chisnall vs Bradley Brooks/Scott Williams

(8) Dirk van Duijvenbode vs Daryl Gurney/Connor Scutt

(9) Joe Cullen vs Joe Murnan

(4) Peter Wright vs Ian White/Raymond van Barneveld

(13) Jonny Clayton vs Karel Sedlacek/Jim Williams

(5) Damon Heta vs Alan Soutar/Lukas Wenig

(12) Danny Noppert vs Ross Smith

(2) Gerwyn Price vs Lewy Williams

(15) Martin Schindler vs Danny van Trijp/John Henderson

(7) Nathan Aspinall vs Steve Beaton

(10) Jose de Sousa vs Dragutin Horvat/Jeff Smith

(3) Rob Cross vs Gabriel Clemens/Martin Lukeman

(14) Krzysztof Ratajski vs Josh Rock/Geert Nentjes

(6) Ryan Searle vs Keane Barry/Luke Woodhouse

(11) Dimitri Van den Bergh vs Martijn Kleermaker/David Evans

READ MORE: World Series of Darts Finals: Michael Smith to face winner of Peter Wright vs Fallon Sherrock

Latest news