Adrian Lewis shines at the Gambrinus Czech Darts Open to set up Gerwyn Price showdown

Former world champion enjoys himself in Prague.

Former World Champion Adrian Lewis was joined by home stars Karel Sedlacek, Adam Gawlas and Vitezslav Sedlak in securing second round places at the Gambrinus Czech Darts Open as the PDC European Tour event began on Friday.

The £140,000 tournament in Prague sees 48 players competing across the weekend, with two-time World Champion Lewis amongst the star attractions on the opening day at Hala Kralovka.

Lewis overcame reigning World Youth Champion Ted Evetts 6-3 with a clinical display, opening up a 4-0 lead before fending off the youngster's fightback to finish with six doubles from ten attempts.

The Englishman now takes on world number two Gerwyn Price in Saturday's second round to continue his bid to win a first European Tour title since 2012.

The day also saw three of the six Czech player secure places in round two, with Sedlacek proving a hugely popular winner with his 6-3 defeat of Gabriel Clemens, meaning he faces Dirk van Duijvenbode on Saturday.

Emerging star Gawlas finished six doubles from 11 attempts as he battled past Dennie Olde Kalter to set up a tie with Damon Heta in the last 32.

Debutant Sedlak, meanwhile, will take on Michael van Gerwen in a dream second round tie after he came from 3-2 down to win 6-4 against Welshman Jon Worsley.

Dave Chisnall was in ruthless mood as he whitewashed Filip Sebesta without the local qualifier having a dart at a double, while Jose Justicia and Ritchie Edhouse overcame Miloslav Navratil and Ondrej Plsek respectively.

Nathan Aspinall was a 6-1 winner against World Cup winner John Henderson as he progressed to a tie with Dimitri Van den Bergh.

Jules van Dongen at Czech Open

German Darts Grand Prix runner-up Martin Lukeman was a 6-1 winner against Martijn Dragt, averaging 98, and now plays Luke Humphries in a repeat of their European Tour final last month.

Ricky Evans impressed with six doubles from ten attempts in his 6-4 win over Northern Irish starlet Josh Rock, moving him through to a tie with Krzysztof Ratajski.

Martijn Kleermaker recorded a 55% finishing ratio in his 6-4 defeat of UK Open quarter-finalist Sebastian Bialecki to progress to a second round clash against Jose de Sousa.

Ross Smith will take on 2022 Masters champion Joe Cullen following a 6-4 defeat of Florian Hempel, while Rowby-John Rodriguez meets Premier League star Michael Smith following an impressive 6-2 win over Scott Waites.

America's Jules van Dongen enjoyed a winning European Tour debut by defeating Brett Clayton 6-2, and he now plays reigning European Champion Rob Cross.

Vincent van der Voort won an all-Dutch first round contest with recent Development Tour event winner Geert Nentjes 6-2 to move into a meeting with Martin Schindler.

Mickey Mansell plays Brendan Dolan in an all-Northern Irish second round meeting after his 6-4 win over Jeffrey de Zwaan, as he finished 6/10 doubles.

Saturday's second round sees the 16 seeded players enter the action against the first round winners, with the tournament to conclude on Sunday in Prague.

Czech Darts Open

Friday, May 13

First Round

Afternoon Session

Martin Lukeman 6-1 Martijn Dragt

Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-2 Scott Waites

Jose Justicia 6-2 Miloslav Navratil

Mickey Mansell 6-4 Jeffrey de Zwaan

Jules van Dongen 6-2 Brett Claydon

Ritchie Edhouse 6-1 Ondrej Plsek

Ricky Evans 6-4 Josh Rock

Vitezslav Sedlak 6-4 Jon Worsley

Evening Session

Ross Smith 6-4 Florian Hempel

Martijn Kleermaker 6-4 Sebastian Bialecki

Dave Chisnall 6-0 Filip Sebesta

Nathan Aspinall 6-1 John Henderson

Adam Gawlas 6-4 Dennie Olde Kalter

Adrian Lewis 6-3 Ted Evetts

Karel Sedlacek 6-3 Gabriel Clemens

Vincent van der Voort 6-2 Geert Nentjes

Fixtures, Saturday May 14

Second Round

Afternoon Session (13:00 local time, 12:00 BST)

Krzysztof Ratajski v Ricky Evans

Brendan Dolan v Mickey Mansell

Luke Humphries v Martin Lukeman

Rob Cross v Jules van Dongen

Dimitri Van den Bergh v Nathan Aspinall

Jose de Sousa v Martijn Kleermaker

Daryl Gurney v Dave Chisnall

Michael Smith v Rowby-John Rodriguez

Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 BST)

Damon Heta v Adam Gawlas

Martin Schindler v Vincent van der Voort

Dirk van Duijvenbode v Karel Sedlacek

Jonny Clayton v Jose Justicia

Michael van Gerwen v Vitezslav Sedlak

Gerwyn Price v Adrian Lewis

Joe Cullen v Ross Smith

Ryan Searle v Ritchie Edhouse

READ MORE: PDC ProTour 2022 calendar: Schedule, events, results, prize money and where to watch

Latest news