• Home
  • Football
  • Cristiano Ronaldo Looking To Extend Record After Being Named In Portugal Squad For Euro

Cristiano Ronaldo looking to extend record after being named in Portugal squad for Euro 2024

Cristiano Ronaldo is hoping to extend his international appearances record after being named in Portugal's Euro 2024 squad.

The 39-year-old, who has made 206 appearances for his country, scoring 128 goals, has been included in head coach Roberto Martinez's 26-man squad for the tournament in Germany, from June 14-July 14.

Ronaldo, currently playing for Saudi Pro League side Al-Nassr, will play in his 11th major tournament for Portugal since helping them reach the Euro 2004 final in Lisbon, which they lost 1-0 to Greece.

He helped the Selecao das Quinas win Euro 2016 in France — his only major international trophy — scoring three goals in the tournament.

Ronaldo, a five-time Ballon d'Or winner, made his senior debut for Portugal as an 18-year-old in 2003 and made his most recent appearance in a 2-0 friendly defeat to Slovenia in Ljubljana in March.

Portugal head coach Roberto Martinez has also named 41-year-old Porto defender Pepe in his squad and nine English Premier League players, including Bruno Fernandes, Bernardo Silva, Ruben Dias and Diogo Jota.

Martinez's side will play the Czech Republic in their opening Group F game on June 18 June before facing Turkey and Georgia.

Portugal squad:

Goalkeepers: Diogo Costa (Porto), Rui Patricio (Roma), Jose Sa (Wolves)

Defenders: Ruben Dias (Manchester City), Danilo Pereira (PSG), Antonio Silva (Benfica), Pepe (Porto), Goncalo Inacio (Sporting), Nelson Semedo (Wolves), Joao Cancelo (Barcelona), Diogo Dalot (Manchester United), Nuno Mendes (PSG)

Midfielders: Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United), Vitinha (PSG), Ruben Neves (Al Hilal), Joao Palhinha (Fulham), Joao Neves (Benfica), Otavio (Al-Nassr)

Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo (Al-Nassr), Diogo Jota (Liverpool), Bernardo Silva (Manchester City), Joao Felix (Barcelona), Rafael Leao (AC Milan), Goncalo Ramos (Benfica), Pedro Neto (Wolves), Francisco Conceicao (Porto)

More Articles