Snooker 2022/23 season: Key events, dates, results and prize money for the upcoming campaign

It promises to be another fascinating snooker season in 2022/23, and Planet Sport is here to give you all the key events and results.

The 2021/22 snooker season will be one remembered for the sport emerging from the Covid-19 pandemic and Ronnie O'Sullivan making history.

It's impossible to predict what is coming in the 2022/23 season, but there are plenty of key dates to mark in your diary.

August 16-21 - European Masters

Total Prize fund: £407,000

Winner's share: £80,000

2022 winner: Kyren Wilson

The Championship League is the official start of the 2022/23 season, but as far as the top players are concerned things get underway at the European Masters in August.

This year's edition took place in Germany with Stadhalle in Furth doing the honours of hosting.

Former World Championship finalist Kyren Wilson bagged his fifth career ranking title following a 9-3 win over Barry Hawkins in the European Masters final. Full report

September 26 - October 2 - British Open

Ryan Day of Wales plays a shot

Total Prize fund: £470,000

Winner's share: £100,000

2022 winner: Ryan Day

Marshall Arena in Milton Keynes hosted the tournament and defending champion Mark Williams suffered an early exit in the round of 64 losing to Ben Woollaston 1-4.

Welsh professional Ryan Day claimed the Cazoo British Open title when he reeled off four frames in a row to overcome Mark Allen 10-7 in the final. Full report

October 6-9 - Hong Kong Masters

Total Prize fund: £315,000

Winner's share: £100,000

2022 champion: Ronnie O’Sullivan

Hosted at the Hong Kong Coliseum, this is a non-ranking invitational event that still carries a hefty pay cheque.

The event was last played in 2017 where Neil Robertson beat Ronnie O'Sullivan 6-3 in the final.

In 2022, O'Sullivan held off a spirited challenge from home favourite Marco Fu to win the Hong Kong Masters in front of a record crowd. Full report

October 16-23 - Northern Ireland Open

Mark Allen during his match against Judd Trump during day four of the 2022 Cazoo Masters

Total Prize fund: £405,000

Winner's share: £70,000

2022 winner: Mark Allen

The Home Nations Series got underway in Belfast in October with the Northern Ireland Masters.

Defending champion Mark Allen won eight frames on the trot to retain his Northern Ireland Open title after launching a concerted fightback to beat Zhou Yuelong. Full report

October 31-November 6 - Champion of Champions (Invitational)

Total Prize fund: £440,000

Winner's share: £150,000

2022 champion: Ronnie O’Sullivan

There are no rankings points available in the Champion of Champions, but it is still one of the most coveted titles around.

It's an invitational event, which means fewer competititors sharing the prize fund.

Ronnie O'Sullivan held off a spirited challenge from defending champion Judd Trump to win the Champion of Champions title for the fourth time.

Aided by a brilliant maximum break of 147 in the eighth frame, Trump fought back from 6-1 down to trail 7-6 in the best-of-19 final in Bolton. Full report

November 12-20 - UK Championship

Total Prize fund: £1,009,000

Winner's share: £250,000

2022 champion: Mark Allen

The season really clicks into another gear in November as the players converge on the Barbican Centre in York for the first Triple Crown event of the campaign.

Mark Allen claimed the biggest title of his career after reeling off seven frames in a row to sink Ding Junhui 10-7 and win the 2022 UK Championship.

Allen looked down and out after falling 6-1 behind against the resurgent Chinese star but stormed back to pocket the £250,000 winner's cheque and become the first Northern Irishman to win the prestigious crown since Alex Higgins in 1983. Full report

November 28 - December 4 - Scottish Open

Total Prize fund: £405,000

Winner's share: £80,000

2022 champion: Gary Wilson

The Home Nations Series moves to Scotland in November, although last year it was held in Wales so don't take that literally.

Gary Wilson claimed his first ranking title with a commanding victory over fellow Englishman Joe O'Connor in the 2022 final. Full report

December 12-18 - English Open

Total Prize fund: £405,000

Winner's share: £70,000

Defending champion: Neil Robertson

The English Open final in 2021 was arguably snookers best match of the season, with Neil Robertson beating John Higgins 9-8 in an absolute thriller.

Milton Keynes' Marshall Arena had the hosting duties last season but the event will move to Brentwood in Essex for the 2022 edition.

January 8-15 - The Masters

Neil Robertson won the Final of Masters 2022

Total Prize fund: £750,000

Winner's share: £250,000

Defending champion: Neil Robertson

The second part of the Triple Crown roars into Alexandria Palace in January for what may be the most unique atmosphere in snooker.

It's a non-ranking event that invites the top 16 players in the world only to fight it out for some big money and prestige.

Last year it was won by Neil Robertson, who was close to being unstoppable at times during the season.

January 16-20 - World Grand Prix

February 1-5 - German Masters

February 13-19 - Welsh Open

February 20-26 - Players Championship

March 13-19 - Turkish Masters

March 27 - April 2 - Tour Championship

April 15 - May 1 - World Championship

Ronnie O'Sullivan, Snooker World Championship

Total Prize fund: £2,395,000

Winner's share: £500,000

Defending champion: Ronnie O'Sullivan

Obviously this is the big one that the whole season builds towards.

Last season was a real corwd-pleaser with the class of 92 all making the semi-finals and Ronnie O'Sullivan winning a record-equalling seventh world title.

Can he go one better in 2023 and become the first player to win eight? Or will one of the richly Chinese youngsters finally come through and win a historic first world corwn for their country?

READ MORE: Ronnie O'Sullivan will 'definitely break the record' for most Crucible wins

Latest news