PDC World Championship: Steve Beaton dethrones 'Queen of the Palace' Fallon Sherrock

Sherrock crashed out of the PDC World Championship after losing an opening round thriller to Steve Beaton 3-2, while Jonny Clayton, Ross Smith and Maik Kuivenhoven all progressed.

Fallon Sherrock returned to the Alexandra Palace and the PDC World Championship for the first time on Sunday night since her record-breaking run in 2019 which saw her beat Ted Evetts and Mensur Suljovic to become the first woman to win a match in the tournament.

But, she wasn't able to match the feat this time round, instead going out in the opening round after a thriller against Steve Beaton.

Beaton, who was the champion back in 1996, was making a record 31st appearance in the tournament as he defied the Sherrock-loving crowd to win 3-2.

The 57-year-old darts veteran actually entered the matchup as a slight underdog, but as it unfolded it became clear that the pair were extremely well matched as they went toe-to-toe each set.

Sherrock started well and took a two-leg lead but Beaton fought back with an average of 104 to win the first set. She quickly levelled but was whitewashed in the third to restore Beaton's advantage.

But, the 27-year-old stormed back in the fourth with a whitewash of her own, setting up a dramatic decider at the Palace.

However, despite the backing from the crowd, Sherrock was sent crashing out of the tournament as Beaton recorded a 3-1 win in the final set.

Elsewhere, eighth seed Jonny Clayton survived a momentary scare against Keane Barry to eventually register a 3-2 win over the teenager, who had taken a 2-1 lead.

Both Martijn Kleermaker and Florian Hempel enjoyed a winning debut in the tournament as they progressed to the second round after beating John Michael and Marin Schindler respectively.

Ross Smith took to the stage in the afternoon and produced a superb performance to topple former BDO world champion, Stephen Bunting, recording back-to-back checkouts of 167 and 102 on his way to the third round.

Back in the first round, Alan Soutar and Jason Heaver both enjoyed debut wins, while Ky Smith fell to a 3-1 defeat at the hands of Maik Kuivenhoven, who will now play fourth seed James Wade in the next round.

READ MORE: 22 facts to celebrate the return of the PDC World Darts Championships

Latest news