Giro d’Italia: Mark Cavendish sprints to 16th career stage victory in Hungary

The 36-year-old was riding in the event for the first time since 2013 and ensured Britain had two wins in two days following Simon Yates' win in the time trial on Saturday.

Mark Cavendish made a winning return at the Giro d'Italia, sprinting to the 160th win of his professional career.

Cavendish - in his first tour here since 2013 - went in front with just under 300 metres to go and overcame Arnaud Demare and Fernando Gaviria to win in in Balatonfured.

The Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl cyclist was delighted in triumphing for the 16th time at the Giro d'Italia.

"I'm very happy. It's nice to win. I wanted to do good in the first sprint," Cavendish said in his post-race interview.

"We have half of the team for climbing and half of the team for the sprints here. My teammates rode incredibly well.

"We had a set up and they delivered. I had to go long at 300m to go. I'm happy it worked well."

Cavendish in SPOTY race?

Mark Cavendish

Should Cavendish continue this type of form, it will see him with a chance of winning this year's BBC Sports Personality of the Year.

As it stands Ronnie O'Sullivan is favourite to win the award after winning the 2022 World Snooker Championship in Sheffield.

Aside from O'Sullivan, there is no other standout contender. Cavendish heads into this year's Tour de France looking to break the outright record for most stage wins. He is currently tied with cycling great Eddy Merckx on 34.

At the top of the grand classification, there is no change with Dutchman Mathieu van der Poel 11 seconds ahead of stage two winner Simon Yates.

The riders will now head to Sicily for Tuesday's fourth stage following three days of action in Hungary.

Results from stage 3

1) Mark Cavendish (GB/QuickStep-Alpha Vinyl) 4hrs 56mins 39secs

2) Arnaud Demare (Fra/Groupama - FDJ) Same time

3) Fernando Gaviria (Col/UAE Team Emirates)

4) Biniam Girmay (Eri/Intermarche-Wanty-Gobert Materiaux)

5) Jakub Mareczko (Ita/Alpecin-Fenix)

6) Edward Theuns (Bel/Trek Segafredo)

7) Simone Consonni (Ita/Cofidis)

8) Caleb Ewan (Aus/Lotto-Soudal)

9) Alberto Dainese (Ita/Team DSM)

10) Phil Bauhaus (Ger/Bahrain Victorious)

General classification standings

1) Mathieu Van der Poel (Ned/Alpecin-Fenix) 9hrs 43mins 50secs

2) Simon Yates (GB/Team BikeExchange-Jayco) +11secs

3) Tom Dumoulin (Ned/Jumbo-Visma) +16secs

4) Matteo Sobrero (Ita/Team BikeExchange-Jayco) +24secs

5) Wilco Kelderman (Ned/Bora-hansgrohe) Same time

6) Ben Tulett (GB/Ineos Grenadiers)

7) Tobias Foss (Nor/Jumbo-Visma) +28secs

8) Bauke Mollema (Ned/Trek-Segafredo) Same time

9) Pello Bilbao (Spa/Bahrain-Victorious) +29secs

10) Mauro Schmid (Sui/Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl) Same time

READ MORE: Kell Brook announces retirement from boxing three months on from Amir Khan win

Latest news