WDF World Darts Championship: Everything you need to know about the return to Lakeside

Darts is heading home to Lakeside as the iconic venue prepares to host its first world championship event since 2019. Here's everything you need to know, including dates, prize money and the draw.

The WDF World Darts Championship - formerly under the BDO banner - begins this Saturday with 48 male and 24 female players set to take to the oche. 

The event was originally scheduled to take place in January, but with growing concerns over Covid-19 at the time, the organisers made a decision to postpone the event by three months.

Fast forward to April, and both the men's and women's competitions are about to get started. Here, Planet Sport covers everything you need to know about the tournament.

When is it?

The action gets underway on Saturday, April 2, and will continue until finals day on Sunday, April 10.

The tungsten drama will last for nine full days, with the opening weekend overseeing a total of 24 matches.

Where is it?

General view of a fan in fancy dress during day nine of the BDO World Professional Darts Championship 2019 at The Lakeside, London.

Controversially, the last edition of this tournament - the 2020 BDO World Darts Championship - was played at the Indigo, The O2 in London.

This was the first time since 1985 that the competition took place away from the Lakeside Country Club in Surrey.

This year, the event will return to Lakeside - a venue which is regarded by many as the spiritual home of darts.

Who are the favourites?

England's Martin Adams in the Quarter Final during the BDO World Professional Darts Championships at the Lakeside Complex, Surrey.

The two men who are expected to go far are Connor Scutt and Cameron Menzies.

The latter of the two has been playing on the PDC's ProTour and has enjoyed shock victories over the likes of Michael van Gerwen, Jose de Sousa and Mensur Suljovic.

Jim McEwan and James Richardson are also regarded as strong contenders, but it's fair to say that most eyes will be on one man in particular.

Martin Adams has won three world titles during his glittering career, and the 65-year-old returns to Lakeside as he looks to pull off yet another triumph.

Wolfie recently made it to the final of the World Seniors Championship, but faced a 5-1 defeat at the hands of Robert Thornton.

Mikuru Suzuki celebrates winning the women's championship during day eight of the BDO World Professional Darts Championships 2020 at The O2, London.

With regards to the women's draw, it's defending world champion Mikuru Suzuki who is the frontrunner.

The 40-year-old Japanese player has won the last two world championships and is on the lookout for a hat-trick.

However, she is likely to face stiff competition from Beau Greaves and Corrine Hammond.

Another player to keep an eye on is Deta Hedman. The 62-year-old has enjoyed countless tournament wins throughout her glittering career.

Despite this, the one piece of silverware which is yet to land on her cabinet is the world championship trophy. Hedman has reached three finals at Lakeside, but suffered agonising defeats on all three occasions.

How much prize money is on offer?

Jeff Smith during the BDO World Championship Final at the Lakeside Complex, Frimley Green.

There are four competitions taking place at Lakeside: the men's, women's, boys and girls tournaments.

Taking all those events into consideration, the entire prize fund is £300,000.

The winner of the men's event is set to take home £50,000 while the women's champion will pocket £25,000.

The boys champion will claim £5,000 while the winner of the girls tournament will take a mere £2,000.

Where can I watch it?

You can watch every dart, set and match across Eurosport and Quest.

Coverage will be anchored by Lynsey Hipgrave while PDC major winner Paul Nicholson and darting legend Tony O'Shea are expected to lead on commentary and also cover punditry duties.

Round one draw and order of play

Saturday, April 2

Afternoon session

Martin Adams (Eng) v Jarred Cole (Eng)

John Scott (Eng) v Johnny Haines (Eng)

Paula Jacklin (Eng) v Rhian O'Sullivan (Wal) - Women's event

Ben Hazel (Eng) v Haupai Puha (NZ)

Andreas Harrysson (Swe) v Laszlo Kadar (Rom)

Amanda Harwood (Eng) v Marjolein Noijens (Ned) - Women's event

Evening session

Landon Gardiner (Aus) v Jim McEwan (Sco)

Priscilla Steenbergen (Ned) v Darlene van Sleeuwen (Can) - Women's event

Mark Barilli (Sco) v Rory Hansen (Can)

Mark Graham (Wal) v Dave Prins (Eng)

Suzanne Smith (Eng) v Jo Clements (Eng) - Women's event

Paul Hogan (Eng) v Justin Thompson (Aus)

Sunday, April 3

Afternoon session

Ian Jones (Eng) v David Cameron (Can)

John Desreumaux (Bel) v Donovan Lottering (Aus)

Lorraine Hyde (Sco) v Tori Kewish (Aus) - Women's event

Francesco Raschini (Ita) v Ryan de Vreede (Ned)

Lee Shewan (Eng) v Jordan Brooks (Eng)

Vicky Pruim (Swe) v Desi Mercer (NZ) - Women's event

Evening session

Dave Parletti (Eng) v Shaun McDonald (Sco)

Paula Murphy (US) v Veronika Ihasz (Hun) - Women's event

Connor Scutt (Eng) v Shawn Burt (Can)

Steve Hine (Eng) v Kevin Luke (US)

Laura Turner (Eng) v Mikuru Suzuki (Jpn) - Women's event

James Richardson (Eng) v Sebastian Steyer (Pol)

READ MORE: Jonny Clayton wins week eight to return to the top of the Premier League table

Latest news