Premier League darts permutations: Joe Cullen vs Peter Wright in play-off decider

Joe Cullen will take on Peter Wright for the final play-off spot in the Premier League in the final night in Newcastle on Thursday.

Just one final place remains in the Premier League play-offs and Joe Cullen will face Peter Wright for a winner-takes-all clash.

Cullen's victory in London last week saw him jump above Wright into fourth in the standings, with both players locked together on 22 points.

Now, on the 16th and final Premier League regular season night, the two will battle it out in the quarter-finals, with the winner also bagging that play-off spot.

Cullen's victory last week could prove decisive, as he'll now have the advantage of throwing first against world champion Wright.

Although all players will again be battling for a nightly £10,000 bonus, for Cullen and Wright they're playing for much, much more.

Winner takes all in Cullen vs Wright

The winner of Cullen vs Wright will take their place in the line-up for the play-offs in Berlin on June 13.

That means they can fight it out for the coveted title but also the tasty £275,000 first prize.

With the four semi-finalists also guranteed £85,000 just for making it to Berlin, it means Thursday's clash between Wright and Cullen is also a high-stakes contest.

That will always add an extra edge to proceedings in any game of darts.

Clayton guaranteed top spot

Defending champion Jonny Clayton is guaranteed to finish top of the table after reaching his seventh final last week.

His lead of six points can't be overhauled by Michael van Gerwen - who is also guaranteed to finish second.

Calyton is just the fourth player to finish top of the Premier League table, with Phil Taylor and Van Gerwen dominating the all-time list, and Glen Durrant also adding his name among the greats. 

MVG is chasing a sixth Premier League title, but will only find out his semi-final opponent at the end of Thursday, with James Wade qualified but not guaranteed of third.

The left-hander could yet be overtaken by Wright or Cullen.

Gerwyn Price and Michael Smith have both failed to qualify, while two-time champion Gary Anderson gets the wooden spoon with his guaranteed last-placed finish.

Night 16 - Utilita Arena, Newcastle

Thursday May 26


Jonny Clayton vs Gary Anderson

Joe Cullen vs Peter Wright

Michael van Gerwen vs Michael Smith

James Wade vs Gerwyn Price

READ MORE: Full 2022 Premier League results, schedule and standings

Latest news