PDC World Darts Championship: Draw, schedule, prize money and favourites for the Sky-televised event

The biggest darting extravaganza of the year is back as 96 players from around the globe battle it out for tungsten supremacy.

Peter Wright is the defending champion following his 7-5 victory over Michael Smith 12 months ago. 

However, with the Scotsman facing stiff competition from around the draw, keeping hold of his darting crown seems a daunting task.

Here, Planet Sport takes a look at everything you need to know ahead of the Alexandra Palace classic.

Draw and match schedule

Thursday December 15 (1900 GMT)

R1 - Mickey Mansell v Ben Robb

R1 - Keane Barry v Grant Sampson

R1 - Jermaine Wattimena v Nathan Rafferty

R2 - Peter Wright v Mansell/Robb

Friday December 16

Afternoon Session (1230 GMT)

R1 - Alan Soutar v Mal Cuming

R1 - Boris Krcmar v Toru Suzuki

R1 - Adrian Lewis v Daniel Larsson

R2 - Kim Huybrechts v Barry/Sampson

Evening Session (1900 GMT)

R1 - Rowby-John Rodriguez v Lourence Ilagan

R1 - William O'Connor v Beau Greaves

R1 - Keegan Brown v Florian Hempel

R2 - Michael Smith v Wattimena/Rafferty

Saturday December 17

Afternoon Session (1100 GMT)

R1 - Martin Lukeman v Nobuhiro Yamamoto

R1 - Simon Whitlock v Christian Perez

R1 - Adam Gawlas v Richie Burnett

R2 - Daryl Gurney v Soutar/Cuming

Evening Session (2000 GMT)

R1 - Ryan Meikle v Lisa Ashton

R1 - Cameron Menzies v Diogo Portela

R1 - Josh Rock v Jose Justicia

R2 - Dimitri Van den Bergh v Rodriguez/Ilagan

Sunday December 18

Afternoon Session (1100 GMT)

R1 - Madars Razma v Prakash Jiwa

R1 - Karel Sedlacek v Raymond Smith

R1 - Luke Woodhouse v Vladyslav Omelchenko

R2 - Damon Heta v Lewis/Larsson

Evening Session (2000 GMT)

R1 - Mike De Decker v Jeff Smith

R1 - Scott Williams v Ryan Joyce

R1 - Matt Campbell v Danny Baggish

R2 - Nathan Aspinall v Krcmar/Suzuki

Monday December 19

Afternoon Session (1230 GMT)

R1 - Andrew Gilding v Robert Owen

R1 - Danny Jansen v Paolo Nebrida

R1 - Niels Zonneveld v Lewy Williams

R2 - Jose de Sousa v Whitlock/Perez

Evening Session (1900 GMT)

R1 - Geert Nentjes v Leonard Gates

R1 - Ritchie Edhouse v David Cameron

R1 - Steve Beaton v Danny van Trijp

R2 - Gerwyn Price v Woodhouse/Omelchenko

Tuesday December 20 (1900 GMT)

R1 - Jim Williams v Sebastian Bialecki

R1 - Jamie Hughes v Jimmy Hendriks

R1 - Ricky Evans v Fallon Sherrock

R2 - Raymond van Barneveld v Meikle/Ashton

Wednesday December 21

Afternoon Session (1230 GMT)

R1 - John O'Shea v Darius Labanauskas

R1 - Martijn Kleermaker v Xicheng Han

R2 - Callan Rydz v Rock/Justicia

R2 - Dave Chisnall v Gilding/Owen

Evening Session (1900 GMT)

R2 - Mervyn King v Campbell/Baggish

R2 - Gabriel Clemens v O'Connor/Greaves

R2 - Michael van Gerwen v Zonneveld/L Williams

R2 - Stephen Bunting v Nentjes/Gates

Thursday December 22

Afternoon Session (1230 GMT)

R2 - Krzysztof Ratajski v Jansen/Nebrida

R2 - Ryan Searle v Gawlas/Burnett

R2 - Mensur Suljovic v De Decker/J Smith

R2 - Dirk van Duijvenbode v Sedlacek/R Smith

Evening Session (1900 GMT)

R2 - Gary Anderson v Razma/Jiwa

R2 - James Wade v J Williams/Bialecki

R2 - Luke Humphries v Brown/Hempel

R2 - Vincent van der Voort v Menzies/Portela

Friday December 23

Afternoon Session (1230 GMT)

R2 - Brendan Dolan v Hughes/Hendriks

R2 - Chris Dobey v Kleermaker/Han

R2 - Ross Smith v O'Shea/Labanauskas

R2 - Rob Cross v S Williams/Joyce

Evening Session (1900 GMT)

R2 - Martin Schindler v Lukeman/Yamamoto

R2 - Danny Noppert v Edhouse/Cameron

R2 - Jonny Clayton v Beaton/Van Trijp

R2 - Joe Cullen v Evans/Sherrock

Prize Money

Winner - £500,000

Runner-Up - £200,000

Semi-Finalists - £100,000

Quarter-Finalists - £50,000

Fourth Round Losers - £35,000

Third Round Losers - £25,000

Second Round Losers - £15,000

First Round Losers - £7,500

Total - £2,500,000


Three-time world champion Michael van Gerwen is the runaway favourite to pick up the 2023 crown.

The Dutchman won five televised tournaments this year, including the recent Players Championship Finals.

Van Gerwen loves the Ally Pally stage and still holds the record for the highest ever average. Mighty Mike posted figures of 114.05 in his semi-final win over Raymond van Barneveld back in 2016/17.

Gerwyn Price and Michael Smith are the next two men fancied by the bookmakers.

Price is a former world champion and arrived in London having claimed two televised tournament wins this year.

Smith, on the other hand, won the recent Grand Slam of Darts event. That one achievement ended a run of eight-straight major final defeats for Bully Boy.

Two of those defeats for Smith have come in world championship finals. The Englishman was first beaten by Van Gerwen in 2019 before losing to Wright twelve months ago.

Speaking of the defending champion, Wright is backed as the fourth favourite, followed by Luke Humphries, Josh Rock and Jonny Clayton.

Previous Winners

1994 Dennis Priestley def Phil Taylor 6-1

1995 Phil Taylor def Rod Harrington 6-2

1996 Phil Taylor def Dennis Priestley 6-4

1997 Phil Taylor def Dennis Priestley 6-3

1998 Phil Taylor def Dennis Priestley 6-0

1999 Phil Taylor def Peter Manley 6-2

2000 Phil Taylor def Dennis Priestley 7-3

2001 Phil Taylor def John Part 7-0

2002 Phil Taylor def Peter Manley 7-0

2003 John Part def Phil Taylor 7-6

2004 Phil Taylor def Kevin Painter 7-6

2005 Phil Taylor def Mark Dudbridge 7-4

2006 Phil Taylor def Peter Manley 7-0

2007 Raymond van Barneveld def Phil Taylor 7-6

2008 John Part def Kirk Shepherd 7-2

2009 Phil Taylor def Raymond van Barneveld 7-1

2010 Phil Taylor def Simon Whitlock 7-3

2011 Adrian Lewis def Gary Anderson 7-5

2012 Adrian Lewis def Andy Hamilton 7-3

2013 Phil Taylor def Michael van Gerwen 7-4

2014 Michael van Gerwen def Peter Wright 7-4

2015 Gary Anderson def Phil Taylor 7-6

2016 Gary Anderson def Adrian Lewis 7-5

2017 Michael van Gerwen def Gary Anderson 7-3

2018 Rob Cross def Phil Taylor 7-2

2019 Michael van Gerwen def Michael Smith 7-3

2020 Peter Wright def Michael van Gerwen 7-3

2021 Gerwyn Price def Gary Anderson 7-3

2022 Peter Wright def Michael Smith 7-5

Where to watch

Fans in the UK, Ireland and New Zealand will be able to follow the action on Sky Sports.

Viewers in USA and Canada can stream the tournament on DAZN, while Australia will show the event on Fox Sports.

READ MORE: PDC World Darts Championship: Five players to keep an eye on at Alexandra Palace

Latest news