Defending champion Gerwyn Price confirmed in top trio of headliners to contest Grand Slam of Darts

Reigning champion Gerwyn Price, world champion Peter Wright and three-time winner Michael van Gerwen are among the big names to headline this year’s Grand Slam of Darts.

The showpiece 32-player competition returns to the Aldersley Leisure Village in Wolverhampton from November 12-20.

The qualification criteria for the 2022 editions means finalists from PDC televised events over a 12-month period will make up 16 places at this year's Grand Slam - and 11 of those spots have been taken.

Price, Wright and Premier League champion van Gerwen are among the players to have won televised events during the qualifying period.

They are joined by Masters champion Joe Cullen and UK Open winner Danny Noppert.

Damon Heta and Simon Whitlock will also compete for the iconic Eric Bristow Trophy after guiding Australia to a maiden World Cup of Darts success in Frankfurt earlier this month.

Elsewhere, world championship runner-up Michael Smith, Dave Chisnall, Ryan Searle and Jonny Clayton are among the current qualifiers.

Four more openings are available at the upcoming televised World Matchplay, World Grand Prix, European Championship and World Series of Darts Finals.

James Wade and Gary Anderson are two big names hoping to preserve their ever-present records in the tournament.

The 2021 world youth champion, Ted Evetts, 2021 world youth championship runner-up, Nathan Rafferty, and this year's North American championship winner, Leonard Gates, have secured qualification places.

They will be joined by the Challenge Tour, Development Tour and Women's Series Order of Merit winners, as well as the inaugural Women's World Matchplay and PDC Asian Championship winners.

Grand Slam of Darts

Qualifying Players (invited in the following order)

2021/22 PDC World Champion - PETER WRIGHT - 1

2021 Grand Slam Champion - GERWYN PRICE - 2

2022 Premier League Champion - MICHAEL VAN GERWEN - 3

2022 World Matchplay Champion

2022 World Grand Prix Champion

2022 Masters Champion - JOE CULLEN - 4

2022 UK Open Champion - DANNY NOPPERT - 5

2022 European Champion

2021 Players Championship Finals Champion (Peter Wright)

2022 World Series of Darts Finals Champion

2022 World Cup Champions x2 - DAMON HETA & SIMON WHITLOCK - 6+7

2021/22 PDC World Championship runner-up - MICHAEL SMITH - 8

2021 Grand Slam runner-up (Peter Wright)

2022 Premier League runner-up (Joe Cullen)

2022 World Matchplay runner-up

2022 World Grand Prix runner-up

2022 Masters runner-up - DAVE CHISNALL - 9

2022 UK Open runner-up (Michael Smith)

2022 European Championship runner-up

2021 Players Championship Finals runner-up - RYAN SEARLE - 10

2022 World Series of Darts Finals runner-up

2022 World Cup runners-up x2 - (Gerwyn Price) & JONNY CLAYTON - 11

2022 European Tour Event Winners

In order of number of event wins and then PDC Ranking Order -

Currently (provisional qualifiers listed in capitals):

LUKE HUMPHRIES (3), (Michael van Gerwen x3), (Gerwyn Price), (Michael Smith)

2022 Players Championship Event Winners

In order of number of event wins and then PDC Ranking Order

Currently (provisional qualifiers listed in capitals):

(Michael Smith x3), (Michael van Gerwen x2), (Joe Cullen x2), (Peter Wright), (Gerwyn Price), (Damon Heta), (Luke Humphries), DIRK VAN DUIJVENBODE, RYAN SEARLE, NATHAN ASPINALL, JIM WILLIAMS, Scott Williams, Danny Jansen.

PDC Tour Card Holder Qualifier

8x Players (Sunday 6 November)

Additional Qualifiers

2021 World Youth Champion - TED EVETTS

2021 World Youth Championship runner-up - NATHAN RAFFERTY

2022 Challenge Tour Order of Merit Winner

2022 Development Tour Order of Merit Winner

2022 Women's World Matchplay Winner

2022 Women's Series Order of Merit Winner

2022 PDC Asian Championship Winner

2022 North American Championship Winner - LEONARD GATES

READ MORE: Women's Darts Series: Lisa Ashton continues her darts dominance at Event 12

Latest news