German Darts Championship: Dave Chisnall and Kim Huybrechts progress as Adrian Lewis is dumped out

Former European Tour event winners Kim Huybrechts and Dave Chisnall were among first round winners in Hildesheim, Germany.

The opening day of action saw the tournament's qualifiers battle for a place in the second round. 

Chisnall, who won the German Darts Championship in 2013, averaged 99 and powered to a comfortable 6-1 victory over Stefan Bellmont.

The 41-year-old will now take on Gabriel Clemens in the second round of the £140,000 event.

Huybrechts also progressed after putting on a checkout masterclass.

The Hurricane hit six doubles from six attempts as he secured a 6-3 win over Joe Murnan. The 36-year-old will now face Jose de Sousa on Saturday.

Kim Huybrechts in action at teh German Darts Championship
Photo Credit: Kais Bodensieck/PDC Europe

"I've been ill this week, my daughter had a virus and I was not sure if I could make the game, so when I did and won I'm very happy," said Huybrechts.

"The confidence is back. I used to lose so many games when I was feeling good, and now when I'm feeling bad I win games, so it's coming back."

Elsewhere, Daryl Gurney was forced to fend off a strong challenge from Lukas Wenig to claim a 6-4 victory. The Northern Irish man will now prepare for a second-round clash with Luke Humphries.

Daryl Gurney at the German Darts Championship
Photo Credit: Kais Bodensieck/PDC Europe

Former European Tour event winner Vincent van der Voort produced a 156 checkout during his 6-2 defeat of fellow Dutchman Gian van Veen. Next up for the 46-year-old is a clash against Ryan Searle.

The biggest shock of the round came at the expense of two-time World Champion Adrian Lewis who lost 6-2 against Czech qualifier Karel Sedlacek.

The man known as Evil Charlie took out checkouts of 118 and 112 to book a date with Chris Dobey in the second round.

Martin Schindler at the German Darts Championship
Photo Credit: Kais Bodensieck/PDC Europe

There were also wins for Germany's Martin Schindler, Lithuania's Darius Labanauskas and England's Rickey Evans.

Defending champion Devon Petersen also progressed and will face Michael Smith in the second round.

Coverage of the tournament continues through DAZN for viewers in Germany, Austria and Switzerland, and through PDCTV for subscribers in all other territories, as well as through bookmakers worldwide.

First round results

Scott Waites 6-3 Marko Kantele

Alan Soutar 6-3 Luc Peters

Martin Lukeman 6-2 Jimmy Hendriks

Martijn Kleermaker 6-4 Mario Vandenbogaerde

Darius Labanauskas 6-2 Niko Springer

Ricky Evans 6-3 Nathan Rafferty

Jose Justicia 6-4 George Killington

Martin Schindler 6-5 Jermaine Wattimena

Dave Chisnall 6-1 Stefan Bellmont

Vincent van der Voort 6-2 Gian van Veen

Daryl Gurney 6-4 Lukas Wenig

Kim Huybrechts 6-3 Joe Murnan

Karel Sedlacek 6-2 Adrian Lewis

READ MORE: From MVG to Laura Woods! Here are 13 darts celebrities and the soccer clubs they support

Latest news