European Darts Open news: Round-up and draw as big guns enter second round in Leverkusen

Following an exciting opening day at the Ostermann Arena, the European Darts Open is about to get even better with the top 16 seeds set to enter the tournament.

World number one Gerwyn Price is set to make his European Tour return after missing last week's Austrian Darts Open. 

The Iceman will take on Luke Woodhouse, who put on a clinic against Mickey Mansell in the first round, winning 6-0 with a 109.98 average - his highest recorded three dart average.

The 33-year-old said: "Practice didn't go so well, but I felt really comfortable up on the stage and the crowd was amazing - it went really well.

"Obviously Gezzy is an unbelievable player so I'm going to have to perform like that tomorrow then you never know. I've got all the respect in the world for Gezzy so we'll see what happens."

World champion Peter Wright could also face a tricky test as he takes on Scott Williams in his second-round match.

Williams averaged 98 as he came back from 5-4 down to beat Adam Gawlas 6-5 in his opener.

German Darts Grand Prix winner Luke Humphries will be looking to maintain his impressive run in the country when he faces Darren Penhall.

The Smooth Operator could cause Humphries problems if his first-round performance is anything to go by. The 49-year-old averaged 100 as he whitewashed Luc Peters 6-0.

Kais Bodensieck/PDC Europe

Daryl Gurney kept his cool in a tightly-fought match against fellow Northern Irishman Kevin Burness. Superchin checked out 78 to win the deciding leg and set up a second-round meeting with Michael van Gerwen.

Martin Schindler is the sole German survivor after beating Ritchie Edhouse. The 25-year-old will now take on Rob Cross on Saturday.

Gabriel Clemens and Nico Kurz were unable to follow in Schindler's footsteps, as the two German players bowed out against Dave Chisnall and Rowby-John Rodriguez.

Full second round draw

Kais Bodensieck/PDC Europe

Gerwyn Price (1) vs Luke Woodhouse

Nathan Aspinall (16) vs Karel Sedlacek

Luke Humphries (8) vs Darren Penhall

Brendan Dolan (9) vs Andrew Gilding

Joe Cullen (4) vs Devon Petersen

Dirk van Duijvenbode (13) vs Maik Kuivenhoven

Michael van Gerwen (5) vs Daryl Gurney

Jonny Clayton (12) vs Rowby-John Rodriguez

Peter Wright (2) vs Scott Williams

Krzysztof Ratajski (15) vs Josh Rock

Dimitri Van den Bergh (7) vs Cameron Menzies

Rob Cross (10) vs Martin Schindler

Jose de Sousa (3) vs Dennis Nilsson

James Wade (14) vs Barry van Peer

Ryan Searle (6) vs Krzysztof Kciuk

Damon Heta (11) vs Dave Chisnall

READ MORE: Jonny Clayton wins Night 13 to become first player in Premier League play-offs

Latest news