European Darts Matchplay: Van den Bergh impresses, while Gerwyn Price and Jonny Clayton crash out

The second day of the European Darts Matchplay in Trier saw a number of seeded players crash out, including top seed Gerywn Price and World Grand Prix winner Jonny Clayton.

The second day of European Darts Matchplay action in Trier saw 10 seeded players suffer upsets, including top seed Gerwyn Price, World Grand Prix winner Jonny Clayton, and Premier League runner-up Joe Cullen.

Price's recent struggles continued on Saturday evening as he was bested by Rowby-John Rodriguez.

The Welshman managed to win just two sets against the dominant Austrian, who booked his place in the third round with a 6-2 victory.

Clayton suffered a similar fate, with the world No.8 struggling to cope with Scott Williams, who secured a 6-4 upset to progress. Cullen started brightly in his match against Ian White, but after missing several chances to end the match, the 51-year-old punished him in a deciding leg.

Daryl Gurney, Martin Schindler and Dirk van Duijvenbode were other seeds to be knocked out in Saturday's evening session as they all lost in a deciding leg, with Gabriel Clemens, Madars Razma and Jeffrey de Zwaan capitalising to progress.

In contrast to his fellow seeded players, Dimitri van den Bergh put on a dazzling show once again. Fresh from his successive World Series of Darts victories in Copenhagen and Amsterdam, he's chasing a maiden European Tour title, and finds himself in the third round after a 6-2 win over home favourite Florian Hempel.

The Belgian averaged 110.83 during his victory over the German star, and opened with a 152 checkout before landing eight 180s and a ten-darter to set up a third round clash with World Cup winner Damon Heta on Sunday.

Martin Lukeman, a European Tour finalist earlier this year, overcame Ryan Searle 6-4, while Wesley Plaisier knocked out Jose de Sousa for the loss of just one leg and Luke Woodhouse overcame Polish number one Krzysztof Ratajski 6-3.

Rob Cross survived four missed match darts from James Wilson before taking out 104 in the deciding leg of their tie, while Stephen Bunting took out 110 to deny Polish youngster Sebastian Bialecki in another 11-leg thriller.

The £140,000 tournament concludes on Sunday, with the afternoon session's third round followed in the decisive evening session by the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final.

2022 Interwetten European Darts Matchplay

Damon Heta and Simon Whitlock helped Australia to the World Cup title

Saturday July 2

Second Round

Afternoon Session

Luke Woodhouse 6-3 Krzysztof Ratajski

Rob Cross 6-5 James Wilson

Nathan Aspinall 6-2 Jermaine Wattimena

Stephen Bunting 6-5 Sebastian Bialecki

Damon Heta 6-4 Callan Rydz

Martin Lukeman 6-4 Ryan Searle

Wesley Plaisier 6-1 Jose de Sousa

Lukas Wenig 6-4 Chris Dobey

Evening Session

Luke Humphries 6-4 Cameron Menzies

Scott Williams 6-4 Jonny Clayton

Gabriel Clemens 6-5 Daryl Gurney

Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-2 Gerwyn Price

Ian White 6-5 Joe Cullen

Madars Razma 6-5 Martin Schindler

Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-2 Florian Hempel

Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-5 Dirk van Duijvenbode

Sunday July 3

Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 BST)

Third Round

Rowby-John Rodriguez v Gabriel Clemens

Nathan Aspinall v Scott Williams

Wesley Plaisier v Madars Razma

Rob Cross v Luke Woodhouse

Martin Lukeman v Stephen Bunting

Damon Heta v Dimitri Van den Bergh

Luke Humphries v Lukas Wenig

Ian White v Jeffrey de Zwaan

Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 BST)




READ MORE: World Seniors Matchplay news: Phil Taylor battles past Deta Hedman, plus Kevin Painter whitewash

Latest news