Dutch Darts Championship news: Vincent van der Voort edged out by Danny Jansen in thriller

The new jewel of Dutch darts, Danny Jansen, survived match darts before knocking out Vincent van der Voort in a dramatic all-Dutch clash in Zwolle.

Jansen showed class, composure and clinical darts as he enjoyed a big win on the opening day of the Jack's Dutch Darts Championship. 

The youngster not only fought back from 4-2 and 5-4 down, but also survived three match darts before dumping out Dutch icon Van der Voort.

Jansen will now go on to face Michael Smith, who arrives in the Netherlands on the back of Thursday's Premier League victory in Newcastle.

The Dutch duo of Jermaine Wattimena and Danny Noppert also progressed to round two following wins against Rene Eidams and Arjan Konterman.

Wattimena's 6-3 victory earns him a clash with current world champion Peter Wright, while Noppert will go head-to-head with Martin Schindler.

Kais Bodensieck/PDC Europe

One of the most eye-catching fixtures in the second round is the all-Dutch contest between Michael van Gerwen and former BDO world champion Jelle Klaasen, after the former thrashed Sebastian Bialecki 6-1.

The opening day wasn't as productive for the Dutch trio of Martijn Kleermaker, Niels Zonneveld and Wesley Plaisier who all crashed out at the hands of Callan Rydz, Mickey Mansell and Andrew Gilding.

Mervyn King will face Gerwyn Price following his 6-4 defeat of Stefan Bellmont, while Simon Whitlock will challenge Joe Cullen after beating Jamie Hughes 6-3.

Dirk van Duijvenbode is among the top 16 seeds who enter the second round, and the Dutchman will begin his campaign against Mickey Mansell.

Second round order of play 

Kais Bodensieck/PDC Europe

Afternoon Session (12.00 BST)

Krzysztof Ratajski vs Andrew Gilding

Ryan Searle vs Ross Smith

Damon Heta vs Scott Waites

Dimitri Van den Bergh vs Boris Krcmar

Nathan Aspinall vs Daniel Larsson

Brendan Dolan vs Callan Rydz

Martin Schindler vs Danny Noppert

Jose de Sousa vs Dave Chisnall  

Evening Session (18.00 BST)

Rob Cross vs Ryan Meikle

Joe Cullen vs Simon Whitlock

Dirk van Duijvenbode vs Mickey Mansell

Peter Wright vs Jermaine Wattimena

Michael van Gerwen vs Jelle Klaasen

Gerwyn Price vs Mervyn King

Michael Smith vs Danny Jansen

Chris Dobey vs Ritchie Edhouse

READ MORE: World Seniors Darts Masters news: Phil Taylor shows glimpse of old form with John Part whitewash

Latest news