Darts news: Danny Baggish, Matt Campbell and Leonard Gates win titles in inaugural CDC events

The first three events of the Championship Darts Corporation season took place over the weekend, with some of North America’s top stars taking to the oche.

Matt Campbell won the opening event following a 7-4 victory over Danny Baggish in the final. 

The Canadian got out of the blocks with a 12 darter and went on to take a 4-1 lead. While Baggish showed some resistance, the early advantage proved too big to overcome as Campbell sealed the win with a 98 average.

The Ginja Ninja, who has made three PDC world championship appearances in his career, endured a shocker in the early rounds of the second event as he fell to a 5-0 defeat at the hands of Steve Warnock. Campbell averaged a mere 57 in that game.

In the end, it was Leonard Gates and Chuck Puleo who progressed to the final. Gates ended up taking the spoils after sealing a 7-5 win with a 97 average.

Baggish, who bowed out in the quarter-final stage of that second event, came back strong the following day as he lost just 11 legs on his way to the final.

The Gambler took on Gates in the showpiece and came out as the 7-5 winner in Brownsville, Indiana.

North American stars qualify for US Masters

Darts player, David Cameron

Last Friday, Danny Lauby, David Cameron, Leonard Gates and Doug Boehm all booked their place in the upcoming US Darts Masters.

The four players complete the field for the PDC World Series of Darts event which will take place at Hulu Theatre in Madison Square Garden.

The US Darts Masters will feature eight North American representatives go up against the PDC's top stars including Peter Wright, Gerwyn Price, Michael van Gerwen and Fallon Sherrock.

Premier League players James Wade, Jonny Clayton, Gary Anderson and Michael Smith are also scheduled to take part.

As well as the newly qualified quartet, the North American representatives also include four PDC Tour Card Holders, with American duo Danny Baggish and Jules van Dongen joined by Canada's Jeff Smith and Matt Campbell.

The opening round of the event will take place on Friday, June 3.

READ MORE: Czech Darts Open News: Luke Humphries claims second European Tour title of the season

Latest news