• PlanetF1
  • PlanetRugby
  • LoveRugbyLeague
  • Tennis365
  • TeamTalk
  • Football365
  • PlanetFootball
  • Home
  • Cricket
  • South Africa Include Uncapped Duo Ryan Rickelton And Ottniel Baartman In T World Cup Squad

South Africa include uncapped duo Ryan Rickelton and Ottniel Baartman in T20 World Cup squad

South Africa have included uncapped duo Ryan Rickelton and Ottniel Baartman in the squad for the T20 World Cup that will take place in the West Indies and USA in June.

Rickelton finished as the leading run-scorer in this season's SA20, hitting 530 runs at an average of 58.88 for MI Cape Town, while Baartman was the top wicket-taker in the tournament with 18 wickets in eight matches for defending champions Sunrisers Eastern Cape.

The Proteas have also included three specialists spinners with Keshav Maharaj and Tabraiz Shamsi joined by Bjorn Fortuin.

The pace attack will be led by Kagiso Rabada, supported by Marco Jansen and Gerald Coetzee while the fit-again Anrich Nortje also finds a place in the 15-man squad.

The Proteas will have a power-packed batting line-up at the global tournament with Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller and Tristan Stubbs all included.

The squad will be captained by Aiden Markram, who will lead the side in what will be his first World Cup assignment since being named skipper in the shortest format.

Fast bowling duo Nandre Burger and Lungi Ngidi have been named as the travelling reserves.

Proteas white-ball coach Rob Walter said: "Selecting this group was extremely tough considering the amount of T20 cricket that has been played recently and the form that has been on show. 

"I want to congratulate the two uncapped players, Ryan and Ottniel, on their selection. We have seen some incredible performances from our players in 2024 and that made my job very tough indeed. 

"I am nonetheless proud and confident that we have named the strongest possible squad that no doubt has every chance of success in the West Indies and USA."

Walter has also announced provisional squad for the preceding three-match T20I series against West Indies. This group will change and have players added to it when management is aware of IPL player availability.

The provisional squad will assemble for a week-long camp from 13 - 17 May at the Centre of Excellence in Pretoria, with the final squad set to be announced prior to their departure on 18 May. 

Proteas T20 World Cup squad: Aiden Markram (captain), Ottniel Baartman, Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Ryan Rickelton, Tabraiz Shamsi and Tristan Stubbs.

Proteas provisional squad to play West Indies: Ottniel Baartman, Matthew Breetzke, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Patrick Kruger, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Nqaba Peter, Ryan Rickelton, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi and Rassie van der Dussen. 

More Articles