A look at how Manny Pacquiao became the only eight-weight world champion

Pacquiao is regarded as one of the greatest boxers to have laced up a pair of gloves - and it's not hard to see why.

From knocking out Ricky Hatton inside two rounds to dismantling Oscar De La Hoya, Manny Pacquiao became one of the most feared punchers in boxing.

"Pacman" retired last summer and while he is open to a return in some capacity, he will not be making a return at professional level.

To celebrate Pacquiao, we look at the eight fights that made him stand alone as a pound-for-pound all-time great.


Pacquiao won his first world title in 1998 with an eighth-round stoppage of Chatchai Sasakul.

Super bantamweight

A 22-year-old Pacquiao added a second world title with a knockout win over Lehlohonolo Ledwaba in the sixth round.


In 2003, Pacquiao defeated Mexican legend Marco Antonio Barrera. He defeated the former three-division world champion via TKO in round 11.

Super featherweight

Pacquiao defeated Juan Manuel Marquez in a rematch for the WBC and Ring Magazine titles in 2008.

The first fight - four years before - ended in a split-draw. They went on to have another two fights with both men winning one apiece.


The Filipino legend continued his rise through the ranks with a win over David Diaz for the WBC title in 2008. He won with another stoppage - this time in round nine.

Light welterweight

Pacquiao claimed the Ring Magazine title at 140lbs with a cold knockout of Britain's Ricky Hatton.


Following on from an incredible 2008, Pacquiao won another world title from another knockout - this time it was Peurto Rico icon Miguel Cotto.

After dominating throughout the contest, Pacquiao stopped him in the 12th and final round.

Light middleweight

In his eighth and final weight class, Pacquiao defeated Antonio Margarito for the WBC belt in 2010. He was, however, taken the distance by the Mexican-American.

READ MORE: Mike Tyson vs Evander Holyfield 2 - Looking back on the 'Bite Fight' 25 years on

Latest news