Fury named on Sports Personality shortlist despite threatening BBC with legal action

World heavyweight champion among six names in the running for the 2021 award.

Tyson Fury has been included on the shortlist for the BBC Sports Personality of the Year despite threats to sue the BBC if he was included.

Fury, who claimed a second win over Deontay Wilder in October, opposed his inclusion on the shortlist last year and had threatened legal action if he was named this time.

It stems from a long-standing issue with the BBC after a petition was launched to have him removed from the running in 2015 due to homophobic and sexist comments.

He still finished in fourth place despite the protests, with fans voting in their droves after his first world title win over Wladimir Klitschko.

Tyson Furt Deontay Wilder Oct21

Fury insisted the national broadcaster would be hearing from his lawyers if they attempted to nominate him again.

Speaking to the Telegraph, Fury said: "It means nothing to me and I don't need it or want it.

"In fact, they will hear from my solicitors if they do put me on the list. Give it to someone who needs it. I don't."

Nevertheless, despite his threats, Fury joins US Open champion Emma Raducanu on the six-person shortlist.

The 19-year-old is a big favourite to claim the award after her remarkable triumph in New York in September.

Emma Raducanu tennis Albert Hall Nov21

Olympic and Paralympic stars Tom Daley, Adam Peaty and Dame Sarah Storey are also included, along with Manchester City forward Raheem Sterling, who starred in England's run to the Euro 2020 final.

Despite his opposition to the award, Fury feels he is already the winner.

"We know who the sports personality of the year is anyway - it's me," he continued. "I am the sports personality. Who does what I do, goes through a war in Las Vegas, entertains the fans, and then sings to the audience?"

The BBC show will be held at Media City in Salford on Sunday without a studio audience because of concerns over rising coronavirus infections.

Gary Lineker, Clare Balding, Gabby Logan and Alex Scott will present the 68th annual awards.

The programme, filmed at Media City in Salford, will celebrate 12 months of incredible sporting action, which featured the Olympics and Paralympics.

The public can vote by phone or online on the night for the main award, with full details announced during the show.

Other awards to be announced include Young Sports Personality of the Year, Team and Coach of the Year, World Sport Star of the Year, Lifetime Achievement and Unsung Hero.

READ MORE: Exclusive: Anthony Crolla weighs in on Anthony Joshua's next move

Latest Boxing Videos